Traditional Building Portfolio

2011 Arthur Ross Awards

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Classical America (ICA&CA) has announced the winners of its 2011 Arthur Ross Awards. The 30-year-old awards program encompasses 11 categories: architecture, artisanship, community design, education, history and publishing, landscape design, painting/mural painting, patronage, rendering, sculpture and stewardship. This year the jury recognized five winners in the categories of architecture, artisanship, fine art, patronage and stewardship, and it also elected a recipient of the Board of Directors Honor.

Led by chairman William H. Harrison of Atlanta, the jury included Tim Barber of Los Angeles, Karen H. Bechtel of New York, David Brussat of Providence, Natalie Jacobs of New York, Lyn Muse of Dallas, Peter Pennoyer of New York, Janet Ross of New York and Andrew Skurman of San Francisco. "My engagement was humbling," said Janet Ross, widow of Arthur Ross. "The sheer quantity of fine submissions was most impressive as was the combined experience and depth of knowledge of fellow jurors. The process made me appreciate all of the juries of the past 30 years and proud of Henry Hope Reed and for my part, of the integrity and good faith of Arthur." She has agreed to serve as honorary chair for the awards dinner to be held at the University Club in New York City on Monday, May 2.

"The 30th anniversary recipients were selected by a jury representing a host of like-minded disciplines from philanthropy to construction," said Harrison. "It was an honor to serve alongside a hard-working cadre tasked with selecting from a host of exemplary applicants the winners who best answered the call for advancing the Classical vocabulary and its application in the face of current-day demands." ICA&CA President Paul Gunther added, "The range this year says it all in terms of the Arthur Ross Awards' unique place in contemporary accolades. We fill voids so vast that they're hidden in plain sight until we stop to pay attention." The 2011 winners include the following:

The public library in Washington, DC, was renovated by Franck & Lohsen Architects. Photo: courtesy of Franck & Lohsen Architects

Architecture – Franck & Lohsen Architects, Washington, DC
The firm was recognized for outstanding institutional, civic and residential work, whose elegant designs and sensitivity to detail are considered hallmarks for 21st-century standards. For more information, go to

EverGreene Architectural Arts restored the interior of the Manhattan Supreme Court building in New York City. Photo: courtesy of EverGreene Architectural Arts

Artisanship – EverGreene Architectural Arts, New York, NY

EverGreene was recognized for innovative conservation and creative practices which have restored beauty and dignity to civic landmarks ranging from the United States Capitol to the Empire State Building. For more information, go to

Watercolor of the Petit Trianon at Versailles by Andrew Zega and Bernd Dams. Photo: courtesy of Andrew Zega and Bernd Dams

Fine Art – Andrew Zega and Bernd H. Dams, Paris, France
The ICA&CA honored Andrew Zega and Bernd Dams for a growing oeuvre of rigorous and enchanting watercolors skillfully executed that have brought life to the architecture and gardens of Versailles and other landmarks, along with a body of fanciful illustrations and calligraphy grounded in architecture. For more information, go to

The new Ralph Lauren store on Madison Avenue in New York City. Photo: courtesy of Polo Ralph Lauren

Patronage – Ralph Lauren, New York, NY
For architectural commissions of timeless Classicism, the ICA&CA recognized Ralph Lauren for a generation of taste-making in fashion and the decorative arts with particular acknowledgement of his new Beaux-Arts flagship store in New York City. For more information, go to

The Enid Haupt Conservatory at the New York Botanical Garden. Photo: courtesy of the New York Botanical Garden

Stewardship – The New York Botanical Garden, Bronx, NY
For the ongoing care, restoration and rigorous botanical research and interpretive display of this New York landmark, one of the green treasures in the nation, the ICA&CA honors the New York Botanical Garden. It also noted that it is a leader in understanding and conserving our natural world. For more information, go to

Clem Labine was the founder of Old House Journal, Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines. Photo: courtesy of Clem Labine

Board of Directors Honor – Clem Labine, Brooklyn, NY

The Board of Directors Honor Award is granted only occasionally to an individual whose contributions to contemporary Classicism transcend categories and include direct service to the Institute itself. Labine's pioneering publications and journalistic content have become a prized record of the building arts and a dynamic resource for historic preservation and the continuum of traditional methods and materials.

For more information on this year's Arthur Ross Awards and on previous laureates, go to Go to the same address to register for the awards dinner on May 2, or call 212-730-9646.  TB






Use this tool to search for specific individuals, architectural firms, and
feature topics.
Advertising Information | Privacy Policy

Traditional Building Period Homes Traditional Building Portfolio traditional product galleries traditional product reports
rexbilt Tradweb Traditional Building Conference Palladio Awards

Copyright 2014. Active Interest Media. All Rights Reserved.