Traditional Building Portfolio




2014 Arthur Ross Awards

This year’s Arthur Ross Award winners include four individuals, an educational institution and an architectural firm, representing a wide range of talent, skill and contributions to the arts and to society. The awards, formally known as the Arthur Ross Awards for Excellence in the Classical Tradition, are presented each year by the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art.

“Now in its thirty-third year, the Arthur Ross Awards will once again gather the finest in contemporary classicism to recognize the outstanding achievements of six deserving recipients who exemplify excellence in their respective fields,” says ICAA president Peter Lyden. The program was established in 1982 by Classical America advocate, Arthur Ross (1910–2007), and its president, Henry Hope Reed (1916–2013), to recognize the achievements and contributions of architects, painters, sculptors, artisans, landscape designers, educators, publishers, patrons and others dedicated to preserving and advancing the Classical tradition.

The jurors for the 2014 awards were: Adele Chatfield-Taylor (jury chair), Don Ruggles, Gil Schafer, Peter Pennoyer, Francis Morrone, Charles Warren, Deborah Nevins, Eduard Zepsa and Miriam Ellner.

In the category of architecture, this year’s honoree is David M. Schwarz Architects of Washington, DC. The jury cited the firm’s “deep conviction to classical principles,” noting that it “produces elegant designs for large-scale public works: museums, concert halls, libraries and sports arenas.”

A stewardship award went to Salve Regina University in Newport, RI. The ICAA noted that “In protecting the architectural legacy of its campus, the university has commissioned new buildings that harmonize with historic structures.”

Dennis Collier of Bangor, PA, was recognized for artisanship. “His exacting woodcarving demonstrates that the brilliance of the mind can be expressed in the subtlety of the hand,” the ICAA noted.

Edward J. Fraughton of South Jordan, UT, was cited for his accomplishments in sculpture. “His sculptures inspire us to see beyond ourselves while enriching our world with the timeless qualities of grace, passion and beauty,” the ICAA jurors noted.

In the history/journalism/editing/publishing category, Stephen Fox of Houston, TX, was the honoree. “One of the nation’s outstanding architectural writers, the foremost chronicler of architect John Staub, he is the civic conscience of America’s fourth largest city,” the ICAA stated.

The Board of Directors honor went to Jacob Collins, New York, NY, renowned artist, teacher and founder of the Grand Central Academy and the Water Street Atelier. “He is a champion of humanism and the classical tradition,” the jurors noted.

The awards were presented at a dinner in New York City on May 5. For more information, go to TB



Use this tool to search for specific individuals, architectural firms, and
feature topics.
Advertising Information | Privacy Policy

Traditional Building Period Homes Traditional Building Portfolio traditional product galleries traditional product reports
rexbilt Tradweb Traditional Building Conference Palladio Awards

Copyright 2014. Active Interest Media. All Rights Reserved.